Should you have your own book imprint?

The possibility of a brand image for my books hadn’t occurred to me until I read *Six Steps of Self Publishing, an excellent blog by Libby Fischer Hellmann. Libby, a crime writer, uses red herrings in her imprint. Her emblem awakened the playful child in me. I immediately imagined fishing trawlers chugging into Mevagissey harbor, the Cornish village where I grew up, tossing a catch of herring onto the quay, which under my magic wand, would turn red and fly onto the spine of Libby’s books.

This response excited me. Would my own book imprint automatically trigger my child-like imagination? Names swarmed to mind, but I found they had all been taken. The key was to think of something very personal to me. What did I like to do most of all as a child? Answer: gaze into the sea and dream up stories.

GBS_Logo_Blue

I write ‘a girl by the sea book’ above the title of the novel I’m currently working on. When I open that document, that’s the first thing I see, and it’s not long before I feel the joyful little girl in me leaping to life, ready to make up stories.
Author of Dream Chaser: Awakening  and Written in Ruberah: Age of Jeweled Intelligence

Coming soon: Time Blade: book 2 in the Age of Jeweled Intelligence trilogy

*Six Steps of Self Publishing by Libby Fischer Hellmann http://bit.ly/1pr7n3H

Cornish, lover of enlightenment, risk, fish & chips on Mevagissey pier, devoted globe trotter. I write for the joy of discovery. An idea burns inside me and characters leap into my imagination. I turn their desires inside out to learn the truth that drives them. I publish to share that journey with others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Dream Chaser: Awakening, Self Publishing, The Writing Life, Time Blade, Written in Ruberah

Leave a Reply

