Choosing a Setting for a Novel

I must be in love with the setting I select for a novel, as that place will have to inspire me for all the time it takes to complete the story.

When I was seventeen, I lived in London. I had already decided I would see the world, as if that would be my life’s calling. One day as I walked up Oxford Street toward Marble Arch, my glance fell on a photograph of New York City—a huge photo filling an entire shop window.

Image

I had seen glittering images of New York in movies and magazines, but this photo, shot at night and in black and white, seemed to catch the city-that-never-sleeps, sleeping. I glimpsed my reflection on the windowpane and felt the skyscrapers towering above me.  I perceived the rhythm of city—not the frenetic day-to-day beat so often associated with New York, but an amorphous and malleable energy, which I like to think of as the spirit of the city. I felt it calling me. Two years later, I landed a job in an ad agency in New York, which began my long love affair with the city.

NewYorkCity1

Like all love affairs, mine with New York constantly challenged me. I had arrived alone without knowing a soul, but I never felt alone. The black and white photo that had drawn me across the Atlantic drifted over my mind’s eye like visual narrative in a movie.

Many years and many travels later, I wrote my first novel Dream Chaser: Awakening, and I chose New York as the setting. The story feels like an echo of the city: the fierce daylight run for success, the dazzle of the glittering events of evening, slow dancing into the late night hours. Sleeping in the soft whoosh of its amorphous and malleable spirit. Awakening to the call of your own.

Dream Chaser: Awakening. http://amzn.to/1nhE4Ph

Cornish, lover of enlightenment, risk, fish & chips on Mevagissey pier, devoted globe trotter. I write for the joy of discovery. An idea burns inside me and characters leap into my imagination. I turn their desires inside out to learn the truth that drives them. I publish to share that journey with others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Dream Chaser: Awakening, Paranormal Romance Genre, The Writing Life

Leave a Reply

