Mistakes I made self-publishing my first book—#4 book blurb

The book blurb calls for detaching yourself from the story and looking at it from a sales point of view. Think about something you enjoy buying, like a pair of shoes. Designer names might intrigue you, as marketing experts link them to images of feeling glamorous, sexy, elegant, or kick-ass-combative. You’re in the mood for a certain type of shoe, but you’re not interested in how they were made and shipped to the store.

Readers are in a mood when they surf the web for a book. The new cover for my republished first novel Dream Chaser:Awakening shows a picture of lovers fading into the stars. This smacks of romance. The title above the back cover reads: “SLEEPING WITH THE CLIENT HAPPENS: A Story of Reckless Passion and Enduring Love.” The blurb itself hints at how that happens.

When I first published Dream Chaser the blurb revealed too much of the story. By the time you’d read it you had little need to buy the book!

If you scour the blurbs of best selling authors, you’ll notice much of the copy is about the writer’s style and previous successes. The author’s name sells the book. When self-publishing a first book it’s hard to acquire an illustrious third party quote. The cover art and the blurb must attract your target reader.

I’ve by no means conquered the art of blurb writing, but I hope my take on it is helpful to you.

Recommended blog:

http://www.digitalbookworld.com/2013/4-easy-steps-to-an-irresistable-book-blurb/

Coming next: Mistakes I did not make self-publishing my first novel.

Cornish, lover of enlightenment, risk, fish & chips on Mevagissey pier, devoted globe trotter. I write for the joy of discovery. An idea burns inside me and characters leap into my imagination. I turn their desires inside out to learn the truth that drives them. I publish to share that journey with others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Dream Chaser: Awakening, Self Publishing Mistakes

Leave a Reply

