Mistakes I made publishing my first book. #2-title

I chose the title Dream Chaser and added a long subtitle: A Novel that Reaches Beyond the Veil of Time.  

The title suits my novel. The main character is a goal-oriented woman—a high-speed dream chaser, but if had I Googled Dream Chaser, I would have discovered that several successful writers had already used it. Unless you entered the whole of my title, which only my mother might do, you’d have a hard time finding my book.

Huge mistake, but self-publishing comes loaded with opportunities for those. As independent authors we work alone, buried in our stories, sometimes for years. We hire our own editors, copy editors, proofreaders, etc. We scour the Internet for publishers, reading testimonies of authors who’ve risen to best-seller status. We select a publisher and a package, rich with distribution and marketing promises. We meet online publishing—an apocalyptic switch from creative writing to hardcore, left-brain decision-making.

My title went unchecked in the sharp gearshift between writing and publishing. By the time I realized the problem, I had spent time and effort to market the novel. I had too much invested in the name Dream Chaser to change it completely, but I knew I would improve the subtitle one day.

In mid January 2014 I will republished the book as Dream Chaser:Awakening. Also correcting other mistakes I’m currently blogging about.

Advice, if I dare! Take a long pause before pushing the PUBLISH button. No matter what mistakes you make in publishing, love yourself for having written a book and for offering to share it with others. Thank your story for coming to you. Gratitude opens the doors of creation.

Helpful title blog: http://www.writersdigest.com/writing-articles/by-writing-goal/write-first-chapter-get-started/7-tips-to-nail-the-perfect-title

Coming next: mistake#3—book cover.

Cornish, lover of enlightenment, risk, fish & chips on Mevagissey pier, devoted globe trotter. I write for the joy of discovery. An idea burns inside me and characters leap into my imagination. I turn their desires inside out to learn the truth that drives them. I publish to share that journey with others.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Dream Chaser: Awakening, Self Publishing Mistakes
2 comments on “Mistakes I made publishing my first book. #2-title
  1. conjurors says:

    I’m renaming my first book as well. I found that it was too generic – there are a ton of books titled “Into the Dark” and it didn’t convey the true feeling of the book. I’m republishing in February with the title “The Society of Imaginary Friends” which I think is more unique and also fits the tone of the book better. Best of luck to you!

  2. I love your new title. It reminds me of the imaginary friends of my childhood. All good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

